The foundation of the heritage shared by the Jewish people and the Church is in the Scriptures of the Jewish people dating from before the coming of Jesus Christ. However, one can note that there are certain books that are to be found in the collection of Christian Scriptures that are not within the Jewish TaNaKh.

The collection of Scriptures in the first part of the Bible of the Catholic Church is wider than the collection in the Jewish TaNaKh. There are an additional seven books that are not in the TaNaKh (Tobit, Judith, 1 Maccabees, 2 Maccabees, Wisdom of Solomon, Jesus son of Sira (Ecclesiaticus) and Baruch). Two books that are to be found in the TaNaKh are longer in the Bible of the Catholic Church (Esther and Daniel).


In order to help members of the kehillot find these texts, E. from the Haifa kehilla found the Hebrew version of most of the texts on a site called "Daat".

Book of Tobit here

Book of Judith here

Book of 1 Maccabees here

Book of 2 Maccabees here

Book of Wisdom of Solomon here

Book of Ben Sira (Ecclesiasticus) here

Book of Baruch here

Additions to Daniel here

Note: The translation here is from the 19th century. There is a more modern translation that does not appear on internet. Yad Ben Zvi is publishing new translations of this literature and Maccabees 1 and Maccabees 2 have already been published.